Meet Christina Dedrick, Summer ’17 UELIP

Christina_Dedrick

DCPS Office: Office of Teaching and Learning
Education: Rising Senior at American University
Program of Study/Major: Psychology & Education
Hometown: Belle Mead, New Jersey

I’ve really started to gather a huge passion for education, but hadn’t had much practical experience outside of the classroom. Going into this summer, I really wanted to immerse myself in a school environment and learn about how DCPS functions, especially because I want to teach one day!

I’m currently working on site with the Kelly Miller Middle School in Northeast DC. My main project is to not only revamp their current Staff/Faculty handbook for the 2017-2018 school year, but to construct a new website for their school, as well as construct a Canvas page where the principal can communicate important information with all staff members. A typical day at Kelly Miller really varies–a lot of the time, I’m behind the front desk in the Main Office answering various phone calls while working on the Canvas webpage. I’ve also gotten the opportunity to observe various classes, and even meet with (and shadow) the School Psychologist, because I am considering going into that field! I really enjoy the fact that each day has something new for me, and that it’s very on-the-fly. It keeps me on my toes and keeps me excited to come into KMMS everyday!

I have strengthened my multitasking skills a lot! I’ve also picked up some basic coding and website design, as I didn’t have very much experience at all when I started the UELIP Program. It’s been extremely useful and rewarding, especially because code has always interested me.

I really do want to be in the classroom, and enjoy being in a school setting. I thought that it would be a bit overwhelming, but I really do enjoy getting to interact with so many new people. Also, I’ve picked up a neat classroom management trick: if a student is misbehaving and needs to be sent out of class, there is a teacher who sends them out into the hallway with an ice cube in a container to ‘chill out’. The student is then allowed back into the classroom when the ice cube has melted, which gives them time to reflect on their behavior. I might use that trick, because after graduation next May, I’m planning on joining the Teach for America Corps and teaching for a few years.

Leave a Reply

