Meet Tithi Patel

Tithi

Hometown: Lawrenceville, NJ

What University do you attend? Undergrad/Grad?

I am a rising junior at Georgetown University, studying International Economics and Arabic.

Why did you choose DCPS?

Through my own public school experience, I became passionate about education and have actively pursued different avenues to learn more about the many issues that the field faces. Interning at DCPS was the perfect opportunity to not only work for an innovative district, but it also gave me a chance to learn more about the city in which I now live and study. In particular, as a student from a low-income background and a first-generation American, it is interesting to learn about the efforts being made in targeting specific demographics to help close the achievement gap that is the result of decades of systematic inequity.

What are some of your favorite hobbies?

I like to spend time with my friends, travel to different places, and experience new things. I eat often, nap more than I should, and watch sports so that I can yell at my TV.

If you could be any animal, what would you be? Why?

At this point in my life, I’d like to be an ostrich. They’re so strange and there are some really funny YouTube videos involving ostriches, so at least I know I’d always keep myself entertained.

Leave a Reply

