Meet Emily Katz

Emily

Hometown: Bethesda, MD

What University do you attend? Undergrad/Grad?

I just graduated from Dickinson College with a double major in Sociology and Policy Management

Why did you choose DCPS?

I’m interested in education policy, and the effects that education can have on students, families, and communities. Although I don’t necessarily see myself becoming a teacher, I’m constantly looking to learn more about different facets of the public education system and educational trends. The opportunity to do that while experiencing how an urban school system functions from the inside was so exciting to me. After hearing a lot about DCPS through growing up in the DC area and interning at a non-profit that works with DCPS last summer, I was also eager to get a different perspective.

What are some of your favorite hobbies?

I love doing any kind of art or craft project, spending time outside with friends, and reading.

If you could be any animal, what would you be? Why?

I would probably be a panda, because they look cute and cuddly but they’re also stronger than people expect.

Leave a Reply

