Meet Anthony Scrima

AnthonyHometown: Somerville, MA

What University do you attend? Undergrad/Grad?

I am a rising Junior Posse scholar at Bucknell University.

Why did you choose DCPS?

I chose DCPS because I wanted to understand what the managerial/administration side of education looked like. Last year, I had an amazing experience teaching for Breakthrough Collaborative Greater Boston. I learned a great deal about what it meant to be on the front lines of education. Following this experience, I became curious to know what it is like to be behind-the-scenes of education where policy, curriculum, programs, etc. are being developed. From the description of the program, the UELIP program seemed to be the best opportunity to learn about this side of education.

What are some of your favorite hobbies?

My favorite hobby to do is play Ultimate Frisbee. I picked it up in high school and fell in love with it. It’s an amazing sport that has had a huge impact on my life. Luckily, I have made a men’s team here in D.C. that I will be playing competitively with for the summer/fall. I also love to work with Photoshop and collaborate with organizations, companies, and individuals who need logos, album artwork, or advertising pieces.

If you could be any animal, what would you be? Why?

I would definitely be a bird of some sort. I just imagine how cool it would be to fly whenever and wherever I wanted. If that isn’t convincing enough, think about being able to travel around D.C. without needing to rely on the metro.

Leave a Reply

