Mahogany Blank, Spring 2016 Senior Associate

 

Mahogany Blank

Project Assignment

Girls of Color Initiative

Where are you from?

Northern California

What school do you currently attend? What do you study?

American University where I’m getting my Master’s in Bilingual Education.

What are your favorite memories from school?

Being part of different leadership and community service organizations and holding leadership roles in those organizations.

What is your favorite thing to do outside of work?

I like going to the gym or seeing movies.

What is one fun fact about yourself that others might not know? 

I like to google the “National Day” calendar to find out if it’s a National Day for a type of food and see if places in the city are offering discounts/free food (i.e.  National Pancake Day or National Slurpee Day).

If you could meet one person (historical or contemporary) who would it be and why?

I would like to meet Ellen DeGeneres. As a woman who has earned many humanitarian awards, she has raised billions of dollars for over 40 different charities and over 30 causes, not including donating money to countless individuals. I think that the work that she does is not only inspiring and remarkable, but her positive comical personality would be a highlight of anyone’s day.

What are you looking forward to most about working at DCPS?

I am looking forward to meeting employees across different departments that can give me knowledge on my personal interests and hopefully apply it to my Master’s program and thesis.

Leave a Reply

